2015 Innovation/Best Worker Awards Ceremony

JOYCE ASIEDU-OFEI — HUMAN RESOURCES DEPARTMENT, ACCRA

The 1st Corporate Innovation and Best Worker Awards Ceremony was held at the Banquet Hall, State House, Accra, on Friday July 8, 2016. The ceremony was held alongside the 1st half Long Service Awards.

The ceremony was marked by pomp and pageantry. The Banquet Hall of the State House was festooned with tasteful decorations. At the backdrop of the stage, twinkling lights reminiscent of the famous "Akosombo Nkanea" spelt out VRA. The splendor of the banquet hall was only matched by the elegantly attired Award winners. The Award Winners came in singles; some with partners and others with their whole family. The area buzzed with photographers anxious to capture the moment in history.

The Chief Executive, Ing Kirk Koffi, Ing Richard Nii Agyemfra Badger, DCE (Engineering & Operations), Ing Richmond Evans-Appiah, DCE (Services), Mr. Joseph Tagoe, Ag. DCE (Finance), Mr. George Twum-Koranteng, Director, Human Resources and a good number of Management Staff were all present. The Chief Executive and his team upon their arrival did not simply go and sit at their allotted table, they moved from table to table to greet every single person in the hall. Ing Kirk Koffi had a smile, an insider joke or a special word for every one of the award winners!

Soon the ceremony was under way. The opening prayer was said. Short succinct congratulatory messages were delivered by the Chairman for the occasion, Mr. Isaac Kwesi Aidoo, the Chief Executive, Ing. Kirk Koffi, Mr. Jerry Nelson-Nettey, Chairman, Senior Staff Association, Accra; Sister Esther Agyeman-Asafo, Divisional Chairman, House Union (PSWU) and Mr. Cobblah of the VRA Retired Employees Association.

Thence came the joyous business of eating and drinking; an all you can eat sump-

tuous buffet with an array of drinks. Staff and their families were in good spirits, and why not? In spite of their busy schedules, the Management of the Authority as well as the distinguished invited Guests had on that evening, July 8, 2016, indicated that, there was nothing more worthy of their attention than to fete employees who have shown loyalty to the organisation through Long Service and others whose outstanding performance in 2015 contributed significantly to the business of the Authority.

On this occasion however, the usual gaiety surrounding Long Service Awards was tinged with tense anticipation and a frisson of excitement. The employees who had been nominated by their Departments as winners waited with baited breaths.

Soon, it was the climax; the drums rolled and the Awards Ceremony was under way. Citations were read and the names of the 2015 Innovation and Best Worker Award Winners were called. And the winners were:

- 1. The P & C Team (Messrs. Akim Adio Tijani, Richmond D. Ashong, Sampson M. K. A. Andoh, Eric K. Denuh, Augustus Brew - Hammond, Daniel Baffoe, Kingdom F. Bedzrah) Akosombo Generating Station, Hydro Generation Department, Overall Corporate Best workers (Team) (Gold), 2015
- 2. Mr. Richard Ocquan, Human Resource Officer, HR Department, Corporate Innovation Award (Gold), 2015
- 3. Mr. Edem Akli Nartey, Corporate Risk Analyst, Corporate Risk Management Unit, Corporate Innovation Award (Silver), 2015
- 4. Ms. Gifty Twum Ampofo, Akosombo International School, VRA Schools SBU,, Corporate Best worker (Silver), 2015.
- 5. Mr. Victor Vulley, Refrigeration & Air Condition Unit, Akosombo, Gen-

- eral Services Department, Corporate Best Worker (Bronze), 2015.
- 6. Mr. Augustine Yao Gomashie, Best Worker, MIS Department, 2015
- 7. Ebenezer Kwadwo Omari Mireku, Best Worker, Audit Department, 2015.
- 8. Ms. Gifty Twum-Ampofo, Akosombo International School, Best Worker, VRA Schools SBU, 2015
- 9. P & C Team, (Messrs. Akim Adio Tijani, Richmond D. Ashong, Sampson M. K. A. Andoh, Eric K. Denuh, Augustus Brew - Hammond, Daniel Baffoe, Kingdom F. Bedzrah), Best Worker (Team), Akosombo GS, Hydro Generation Department, 2015.
- 10. Mr. Michael Sam, Project Management Section, Best Worker, Engineering Services Department, 2015
- 11. Mr. Victor Vulley, Refrigeration & Air Condition Unit, Best Worker, eral Services Department, 2015
- 12. Mr. Richard Yeboah Danquah, Akosombo Hospital, Best Worker, VRA Hospitals SBU, 2015
- 13. Mr. Nicholas Agbeli, Best Worker, VRA Training Academy, 2015
- 14. Mr. Edem E. Akli-Nartey, Best Worker, Risk Management Unit, 2015
- 15. Mr. Patrick Mireku, Best Worker, Legal Department, 2015
- 16. Mr. Richard Ocquan, Best Worker, Human Resources Department, 2015

For their awards, the winners were given Certificates of Merit, Plaques and Cash!

None of the Departmental nominees for 1st and 2nd Runner Ups were recommended for approval.

We say "Ayekoo" to our pioneer win-

I am positively jealous! How about you? Want to be a 2016 Award Winner? The power is in your hands.



CE presenting Award Certificate to P & C Team, Hydro Generating Station, Akosombo



P & C Team Award Winners with their partners